Meet Carol

1- Meet Carol

IMG_9731

I’m Caroline Toich, born and raised East London girl. I’m a qualified B.Ed Foundation Phase teacher, however, that is not what I do full time. I’m a part-time teacher, part-time baker and lastly, a part-time golfer (definitely not pro, just really addicted to the game). I started baking with my mom when I was a little girl and always did a bit of baking throughout school, but really got into baking during my varsity years when I had more free time on my hands as I wasn’t in the pool training for water polo as much.

2- What is Carol’s all time favourite thing to eat?

Oh goodness me, this has to be hands down one of the toughest questions for me because I just love everything sweet and of course bread. I really do enjoy biscuits and rusks so they’d definitely be at the top for me, but then so is a good toasted cheese sandwich or just toasted homemade ciabatta or sourdough bread with some butter or then again the deep fried chips, I really can’t decide on this one because I really just enjoy everything – especially if sugar is involved.

3- Who is Carol’s foodie inspiration and why?

I can’t really say I’ve only got one, but I do have one savoury food inspiration and that would be Franck Dangereux, the co-owner and chef of The Foodbarn in Noordhoek. I’ve never had a bad meal there and besides his savoury dishes, he makes the best peanut butter ice-cream ever!

I have so many baking foodie inspirations and bloggers who I follow via Instagram. Here’s 3 to name a few:

  1. Butter Baking
  2. Hint of Vanilla blog
  3. The Sweet and Simple Kitchen

4- Where is Carol’s go-to restaurant and why?

Favourite restaurant…mmm, well because I live in East London and travel quite often to Cape Town and Stellenbosch, I think it’s only fair to list a few in each city:

East London

Sanook, Lavender Blue and Roxy’s café have to be some of my favourite places! All three restaurants have incredible food and amazing coffee. I’m a regular eater at all.

Cape Town

Foodbarn and Vagabond Kitchens definitely rank tops for me. Foodbarn has incredible fine dining meals that are simply delicious and their menu is always changing. Vagabond Kitchens have the best wraps and any meal they make is made with a lot of love and goodness. I don’t think I’ve ever gone to Cape Town and not eaten at either of these two.

Stellenbosch

I’m going to have to say Schoon De Companje. They serve the best sourdough bread I’ve ever eaten in my life and their coffee is amazing!

4- Carol’s White Chocolate Snicker Doodle Biscuits Recipe:

IMG_0908.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 60g butter
  • 150g white sugar
  • 150g brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 350g flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp bicarb
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 slabs of white chocolate (chopped)

Topping Ingredients:

  • 100g white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  3. While mixing the butter and sugar, add the eggs one at a time.
  4. Add the flour, bicarb, salt and cinnamon until well combined
  5. Lastly add the chopped white chocolate and mix well
  6. Combine the topping ingredients together (sugar and cinnamon)
  7. Roll pieces of dough into balls and through the cinnamon and sugar mix
  8. Flatten slightly on a baking tray and bake for 10-15 minutes
  9. Keep an eye on the biscuits and time varies according to your oven. Aim for a slightly golden brown colour.

ENJOY 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

